Split Personalities

I’ve taken up a new way of editing. Maybe it’s not completely new… I’m sure it’s been done before. However, it is new to me.

I had gotten to chapter 8 in my current WIP when (as I wrote in earlier posts) I realized that I was floundering. My character had gone on a tangent, getting herself mired in a pit of annoyingness. She was shallow, angsty, and altogether irksome. When I put all the chapters together, her character flaws stood out even more. It was a patchwork quilt of amateur writing.

So! I decided something had to be done. Time to roll up my sleeves and don my editor’s hat. But wait, I had edited this once before and it still looked like, well…crap. What made this edit any different? I decided not to just depend on myself. Instead, I called on Steph. (Yes, my split personality has a name. Doesn’t yours?)

Steph is a tough chick. She goes into the read hating the book. There have been quotes that I liked and scenes that I loved that she nixes. She is quick to point out when I repeat words over and over and over again, and isn’t afraid to tell me how stupid I sound. Honestly, if you read my editing notes, you would think it was a different person entirely.

Hopefully, Steph will help me get my book out of this slump and back on track to being somewhat decent. And in case you were wondering, I do call her Steph. 🙂 I rather enjoy the insanity.

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on March 2, 2010, in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

