My Literary Boogy-man

Onward, to never-ending procrastination!

Yes, I said it. I’m procrastinating. But, to be completely honest, it’s been very productive procrastinating. Job-hunting for my DH, washing dishes, looking up potential transfer schools so I can finally finish this degree… See? Very productive. Just…not productive on what I want to be productive on. Does that make sense? And what, you ask, is that? My book, of course.

There are a thousand different ideas in my head, buzzing around and demanding to get out. (Hold on-one more procrastination on my procrastinating blog-the house smells like burned popcorn. Must. Rid. Smell.) Ok, now that I’m floating in a cloud of “spring and renewal,” (dorky name for Febreze) I shall continue. If I can manage to not be distracted. Thousand ideas! I swear, there are. I have ideas for romance, ideas for comedic relief, ideas using psychology, ideas tying in future books, ideas for character flaws, ideas for metaphors, ideas for plot twists, ideas for family backgrounds, ideas for…you get the idea. Most of them have been journaled or talked about or otherwise developed, but as soon as I sit down to the computer…

POOF! Facebook pops up. Twitter demands my attention. The blog complains of dustiness. Then, once they are sated and I am completely bored with all Internet activity, I sit down to work. …

Still sitting….staaaaaaring…. Everything that’s in my mind freezes. My characters bounce around in my head, demanding to come out, but I can’t seem to type. The chapters are pretty much written. All I have to do is tweak a few pronouns and fix a few lines and BAM! Done with chapter two. But, even with the simplicity laid out before me, my mind refuses. Right now, I’m doing this instead of exploring my MC’s obsession with humanity and  my other MC’s Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. Grr…

Time for a Twitter break.

And…if you were wondering, no there is nothing relevant about the picture. I just thought it was cool. 🙂

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on April 20, 2010, in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

