Back from the Dead

I know, I know….

I dropped the ball. I’ve been gone for almost a year now, and it’s not acceptable. But I’m back, so that makes it all better, right? OF COURSE it does.

Update on life as I know it: I’m back in school. Yes, friends, that means that, while I am back, there won’t be a post every day. (Not that I have any real readers out there who READ me every day, or that my life is INTERESTING enough for that, but a girl can dream…) If I end up blabbering about papers, or mysterious grammatical errors drift into my posts at 3 AM in the morning, school is to blame. Also! I am back on track with Calypso and moving ever forward with my WIP. Yay! And finally………(drum roll please)

I have uploaded a book onto Kindle.

Oh come on. I know that’s probably not what you were expecting, and it’s not really that glamorous. I have had all of 5 people buy the damn thing, so I’m not considering it any great feat, but you should definitely go check it out. There’s quite a few short stories from high school and the years following (for lack of consistent college-ness), and I’ve heard rumor they’re half-way decent. Plus, it’s a measly $.99. That’s less than a cheeseburger would cost you, people. You could buy it four times, instead of getting your Starbucks fix. (I’M JOKING! Please don’t kill me….) It’s a fourth of a tank of gas. Wait…that’s roughly 5 miles… Omg, forget that analogy. Gas is gold. Suffice it to say, I think you should check it out. (My confidence will thank you.) You don’t even have to have a Kindle. Kindle’s got an app for virtually everything. It’s amazing, I know. Technology is a beautiful thing. Who would have thunk it?

So in closing (because my husband’s socks are attempting an escape, dirty things…), go check out my Kindle book! Everything will be linked in on the side of the blog (over there —>) as well as some other pieces I’ve been working on. For those of you who are budding authors, discover BookRix.com. The place is a fricking gem. Enjoy, and I missed y’all.

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on March 21, 2011, in Musing, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. In the defense of your readers, if you’ve been gone for a year they probably assumed the blog was defunct!

    • Haha, I completely agree. 🙂 I have definitely set myself up to fulfill my own prophecy. In my defense, most of my readers were friends and family. This time around, I’m hoping to make some new friends. Thanks for the comment, and hopefully I’ll see you around here more.

  2. Welcome back! You can probably build your readership a little faster now because you have experience. That’s one way of thinking about it anyway. 🙂

  3. Patrick Sean Lee

    Oh my! Didn’t know you were gone, lol. Well, I’m kinda’ new here…
    You convinced me to BUY THAT BOOK! If it’s a tenth as good as 34, it’s brilliant. I have that kindle app, too.
    Marketing ebooks. THAT’S the challenge!
    Anxious to read, Stevie. Thanks!
    Patrick

    • Will you write a review for me, Patrick? There have been so few people who’ve read it that I’d like to know what someone thinks. Thanks so much for buying it!

Leave a Reply

