To Hate Or Not To Hate

Good morning, my lovely readers!

 

Today, I need your help. (Forgive me if this post is slightly more scattered than my usual scattered self. WonderPets is playing on the tv, and their non-rhyming songs keep catching my ears.)

 

I am still stuck with my bad boy dilemma, but I’ve hit a snag. I never thought I’d be my own downfall. For those of you who know me personally, you know that I have a tendency to the more gullible side. I’m the epitome of naive, the queen of blonde, and I’m all around too trusting. There is very little you can do to make me hate you. (Trust me, there are some people who have crossed me, and I talk big, but I don’t really hate them. Well…except for a few of them…) Apparently I’m projecting that onto my writing, and that disturbs me.

 

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t mind being trusting. It makes the world a much brighter place, especially when I have the hubbie to hide behind whenever something goes wrong. However, most of you out there are not dancing through daisies and still pretending you’re a pretty, pretty princess. My completely oblivious mindset would seem completely foreign to you. That’s where I’m getting scared. If I can’t make this book believable, (think: not my happy world) I need to get the opinions right.

 

As it stands, I’m tempted to paint my heroine as myself, all too forgiving. But realistically, you cannot survive by yourself on a planet without a good deal of cynicism and understanding (hypothetically, of course). SO! This is where y’all come in. I need your opinions, your friends’ opinions, your mom’s opinions, your dog’s opinions…as many as I can get. Is it realistic for said heroine to forgive said bad boy, even if he’s beaten and tortured and almost killed her? I’m thinking it’s not, but Hollywood and my own thoughts are somewhat clouding that. On the other hand, would it be more nature for her to pity him? Ugh… You know, it’s really hard getting all this stuff just right. What would I do without y’all?

 

As to the picture, Zuko is my all-time favorite bad boy. I LOVE to hate him.

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on March 25, 2011, in Musing, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. 1) You’re writing a piece of fiction. Therefore if you’re worried about believability, throw that concern out the window. Write the story how you want to write it, then receive feedback. Otherwise you’ll slow yourself down. If anything, your character can grow with your writing (see: Harry Potter, Eragon…)

    2) The point of the hero/ine is to convey the message you want to convey (typically) to the reader. While some heroes simply are ‘real people’, I feel that if your protagonist is the paragon and you convey realism through the deuteragonist(s) and tritagonist(s) (or even the antagonist(s).)

    So frankly, it comes down to what you are trying to convey: realism or idealism? While not mutually exclusive, they are often antonyms. Good luck!

  2. I have a completely different mind set. Everyone is suspect and not worthy of my trust until it is earned. Most people are good, but a lot aren’t. I say nope- she can not forgive him. Unless it is proved that he had to do it to save her. i.e. Someone set him up for a test and to prove his worthiness, he had to do that or someone else would have killed her.

    Generally, I would say make the heroine less gullible. She has to have some darkness in her to be understood, b/c as you say, most people are not that innocent. I, personally, don’t want a “damsel-in-distress” person- that is so Disney! She has to have an edge. Maybe some pity, but why? She has to have a story behind the story. Why is she like that? What makes her tick? What makes him tick?

    Good luck- these are guess since I don’t know the story, but people aren’t-mostly- all good or all bad.

    • oh- I am so off base- sorry. the first one was great!

    • I love your long comment Cheryl. You’re totally spot on. That helps me a lot, especially since you’re one of the realists out there. 🙂 My character definitely has darkness, and I think that’s what I was struggling with. She’s not me, but I’m the one writing her. Lots of writers say their characters take on a life of their own, and that’s what she’s done. SO when I got to this part and almost made her me, she balked. I love your comment because it makes everything so much clearer. Pity, yes. Complete forgiveness, no. 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Sexual tension between the heroine and the bad boy would make things interesting, unless that would totally screw up the storyline.

    And some darkness is okay. It makes the light parts lighter.

    • Ironically, there is some of that. Comes with being twins with her crush. 😛 But…he’s a very bad boy, and not in a kinky sense. He’s straight up twisted. Why do so many of the best characters have to be bad? 😛

Leave a Reply

