Like They Say…

Curiousity killed the cat.

 

Then again, satisfaction did bring it back… Well, either way, I intend to find out! (Cue dramatic pose and flowing cape.) So, I have a question for y’all. I personally am in love with my genre, but I’m not sure how stable its field is. Most places I run across say that the Science Fiction world stands on shaky legs. Sometimes I imagine myself or the ever cunning Erica Massey resurrecting it, but then I remember that I’m not exactly a pro, not to mention I’m completely unknown. Erica, on the other hand, is amazing and should be a pro. (If you know her, go bug her for a piece of her multiple amazing creations. They’re well-worth it. Then, pray to high-heaven for an agent for her, so you can get the rest of it. GO!) As such a lowly writer that I am, I am in need of shallow encouragement.

 

Do you like Science Fiction, and that’s not just Star Wars and Star Trek and StarGate (dear Lord! So many Star things…), but post-apocalyptic things, steam punk, fantasy sci-fi (think Avatar), parallel universe sci-fi, any of it! Then, if its not your favorite, what is? Fantasy, historical fiction, feminist books, romance, bromance, gardening books, nonfiction, textbooks, Christian lit… I’d love to here it! That way, if this book flunks like my Kindle did, I know which way to turn.

 

(Yes… I am fully prepared to die for my curiosity. In case you were curious…)

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on March 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love historical fic. Historical Christian fic, especially if it was funny, would be awesome. (“Good Omens” isn’t exactly Christian, but it’s really funny. And it’s pretty much “Where’d we put the Antichrist?” I love it. Terry Gaiman=awesome.) Unfortunately, you’d probably step on some toes that way. Post-apocalyptic is interesting, but it’s possible to overdo it. I like to laugh, so if it’s funny without being Jack Black/Will Ferrell funny, I’m all for it.

    • Hmmm… Interesting… I totally agree about loving historical fiction. And yeah…you’d probably step on a few toes, but even Jesus had a sense of humor. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

