Science or Fiction?

The end of the worldSo, I’ve been thinking all day of something to write. Seriously. All. Day.

 

And, I can’t think of anything. Weird, I know, given how much I blab. It’s kind of annoying, especially because I’ve promised y’all that I’m going to keep up with the blog this time around.

 

So, I figured I’d write about something that’s been a popular topic on my ever so lovely BookRix.com. (Yes, I have already written about this before. I fully intend to beat a dead horse.) Science fiction. Yes, science fiction. No, not necessarily Star Trek or Star Wars, although those are classic. Science fiction is so broad! And, in our talks, I remembered one of the biggest sources of inspiration: reality. So tell me, which of the following is real.

 

3D holographic maps

A space elevator that goes from Earth to space

A space ship that uses sails instead of engines

A city on wheels

Artificial “leaves” that can make energy and oxygen without plants.

 

 

If you guessed any of those, you’re right. They’re all real. Can you imagine? (All those scientific wonders were found at popsci.com, the best place to glean ideas.) I mean, honestly, a post-apocalyptic Earth devoid of plant life but surviving off artificial photosynthesis. A city on railway tracks, hovering just above the surface of a water or marsh planet. A “Treasure Planet”-esque space ship that sails through space. A space elevator that can take tourists out of this world! And the 3D holographic wonders… Lord, the ideas are endless!

 

And the best discovery of all? Calypso could very well exist! Ok, so Calypso really is made up in my mind, but there hadn’t been a known planetary group of two planets sharing an orbit. Moons do it, and then there are the moons themselves which orbit planets, but not a planetary relationship like the one in my mind. Until now… Check this out. http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2011-02/two-planets-discovered-sharing-same-orbit

 

Amazing, isn’t it? There’s so much out there that blows my mind. Every time I step outside or read a PopSci magazine, I can see hundreds of possibilities. How can science fiction be so stigmatized when it is so full of wonder? C’mon guys, sci-fi isn’t all full of invading aliens and Captain Kirk. It’s full of science! There’s the post-apocalyptic versions. There’s the fantasy-tinged space stories. There’s steam punk (which is amazing, btw. I can’t write it, but it’s awesome.) and so many more. Anything that has a scientific slant can be science-fiction, I think. Ah….

 

Well…I’m off to create and elaborate on some of the ideas I’ve read about. I think I’ll write about the end of the world by drug-resistant bacteria. Yeah… That sounds promising!

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on March 29, 2011, in Musing, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You are amazing, girl!
    Catching up on the posts I missed..fascinating! Keep it up!

  2. Hey, did you read Kim Stanley Robinson’s Mars trilogy???

    • I have read “Red Mars” and was going to start on “Blue Mars” (I think that’s the next one) but I read them a good 5-6 years ago, so they were a bit over my head. I need to read them again.

      I was shocked! I went to find some good sci-fi books to recommend to a friend and lo and behold, my bookshelf is almost bare! It’s got the classics, it’s got fantasy, but my beloved Sci-Fi is severely lacking. I have some Anne McCaffreys. I’ve got some new ones. But, other than that, I have NONE! I am such a disgrace…. 😛

Leave a Reply

