Jinxed

beating writer's blockI knew I should have kept my big mouth closed, but nooo… I just had to go out and brag about how well I was doing.

Well…that bit me in the ass. I’m now completely sunk in writer’s block. I have tried everything! Writing, brainstorming, watching anime, watching House almost kill someone, playing with the baby, cleaning (it gives me time to think! Don’t give me that look, Mom), EVERYTHING! And nothing works. I know exactly where I want to go with it, but the details are being sneaky. And you have NO idea how frustrating this is…

I take that back. Some of you  might be writers yourselves. You might fully understand my pain. One of my favorite quotes is from Gene Fowler: “Writing is easy: All you do is sit staring at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.” So true… I can feel them already. It hurts just thinking about it! Ugh…

So, since I cannot write for lack of words (hell has frozen over, btw) I shall go garden. Maybe the sight of something green amidst the dying gray buildings of my apartment complex will shake something loose. Hopefully it’s not my porch rail.

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on March 31, 2011, in Musing, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Patrick Sean Lee

    Yep…been there, Stevie.
    Solution: Sit down. Place fingers on the keyboard, Begin to type. Nope! Don’t give up. Delete it and start again. KEEP THOSE FINGERS ON THE KEYBOARD:)
    Maybe write about the Via Dolorosa:)

Leave a Reply

