My Anti-Resolutions

20120101-132621.jpg

2012 has arrived and with it comes so many expectations and hopes. This year, I hope to have so many things done. Call me weird. Call me superstitious. I refuse to make any resolutions about those hopes.

Resolutions to me scream of half-hearted attempts. “My resolution is to work out more.” Two days in and most people give up. “My resolution is to get a better control on my anger.” The next time someone ticks you off, you’ll forget that resolution. They seem to be shallow attempts by us to say, “I know what my flaws are and I’ll try to accomplish them, if I can.” What kind of resolution is that, really?

Webster’s defines a resolution as “the act of resolving or determining upon an action or course of action, method, procedure, etc.” How often, when we make our New Year’s resolutions do we determine a plan of action? How often do we figure out the steps needed to achieve our goal? I know I’ve never scheduled in a work-out time or fit “gym membership” into the monthly budget. New Year’s resolutions seem like just another waste of breath, another commitment we never intend to keep.

I’ll tell you what my goal for 2012 is, though. I plan on finishing Calypso, complete with editing and formatting. I plan on having an agent by December 2012. I plan on not counting on the end of the world. I plan on having The Real Cinderella completely written and partially edited. I plan on completing another year in school. I plan on building up my editing portfolio. And I have a timeline written out for all of those. Superstitious as I am, I refuse to make any of these my resolution. I will make them my goals, though. They shall be scattered on the walls throughout my house to remind me of what I’ve decided to do. There will be a big calendar with each deadline circled in red. And there will be updates on here and on Facebook to keep me accountable. 2012 shall be a productive year, if nothing else.

What about you? What are your goals for 2012 and what have you done to make sure you achieve them? Are you really sold out to these plans, or are you like most people, content to say words you never intend to fulfill? What about you?

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Musing, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I preached on resolutions at church this morning. I took a popular list of resoltions and gave them a spiritual meaning. http://joepalmer.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/resolutions-you-should-make/

  2. there is a difference b/t goals, wishes and resolutions. Do want needs to be done. whatever the date and time is. Seriously, i need help starting a blog. You are the best at that. That is a goal, not a resolution!

Leave a Reply

