What is on Your Bucket List?

Life is not easy right now. It’s not necessarily hard, but it is definitely not easy. On any given day, we’ll have $100 or less in the bank. On any given day, we could have credit collectors calling. Most days, we eat the basics.

Every day, I lived as if that day was the most important.

I woke up and focused on getting to work. I worked and focused on getting to break. I took my break and focused on sleeping. I worked and focused on getting off. I got off and focused on getting home. I got home and focused on relaxing. I relaxed and focused on worrying. And then I went to bed, only to wake up the next day and repeat.  My life was one endless cycle of nothing. I was going nowhere, and I knew it. I was too ashamed to face it, so I “relaxed” to hide it from myself. My family suffered. My writing suffered. Worst of all, I suffered. There was so much that I knew I needed to do, but I couldn’t gather the strength to face it. After all, who wants to face the fact that their life is completely stagnant. I had so many dreams, and I’d traded them for regret and hardship.

I needed a shock straight to the brain to wake me up, and I got one. Facing the choice of having no job or keeping it, I realized that I didn’t want to live like I had been. I had no joy in anything anymore. There was just no life left in me… So I quit. My dreams weren’t so far off, and my situation wasn’t so terrible. I sat back and looked at it all. We didn’t have a lot of money, but we had a roof over our heads and kept most of our independence. We didn’t have the most refined foods, but there are a lot of amazing recipes you can make with ramen and canned vegetables. We weren’t living easily, but I’d forgotten about living entirely. So, I quit.

It’s been two days since my last day at work. I had a day to mope. I sat around and watched Korean dramas like a dork. I read a book. I wallowed in a hot bath and pigged out on a splurge of Mickey D’s. But today is a new day.

Today, I’ll be writing down a bucket list. For those of you who have not seen the movie or heard of it, a bucket list contains all of the things you most want to do in life. If you want to eat pizza in Italy, it goes on the bucket list. If you want to catch a fly ball in Yankee stadium, it goes on the bucket list. The most important factor is that every single one of them must be something that you in your mind deem as not necessary. Is it necessary to travel the world? Of course not. Is it necessary to graduate college? Not completely. Is it necessary to write a best seller? No. But a life full of pure necessity is not living.

It’s been two days since I started my new life. Today, I write up my own Bucket List. Today, I will decide just what path my life will take. Will you join me? What is on your bucket list? Are you willing to step up and step out of the rut? Are you willing to see just how amazing your life can be?

About S. G. Ricketts

I am a dreamer. This page holds all of the dreams and desires and hopes and wishes of the first of my two dreams: to share my imagination with the world. For those of you who have read a book or written a book, these stories are not merely words on a page. They are living, breathing creatures, worlds so compellingly real that you can smell the sweat and feel the rain. This is what I want to share ...with all of you. Yes, becoming rich and famous would be fabulous. I won't deny that. However, it would be so much more satisfying to see my book in the hands of someone on the bus, hear my book talked about at a restaurant, see a cluster of fan-art. I want to inspire the mind to imagine different worlds and different situations. If I can achieve that, I will have achieved my dream.

Posted on January 22, 2012, in Musing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. “…a life full of pure necessity is not living.” — powerful words. And I totally agree with you on this one. Sometimes we need to get out of our comfort zone and do the unnecessary stuff that we had always been egging to realize.

    It’s good that you’re starting on a ‘new’ life now. I’m so glad that I have come across your blog. I love how you play with your honest words. I might as well be making my own bucket list now. That pretty exciting.

    And hey, can you post your bucket list? Or do bucket lists supposed to be kept a secret? How does it work? Is it okay to tell it to anybody? Sorry, for too much inquiry. I’ve seen the movie. I loved it. I’m not an expert on bucket lists though, so how does it work?

    • Once I finish it, I might post it. 🙂 Bucket Lists can be shared, but it’s usually with someone you can trust. Or at least, that’s my thinking. Some of mine seem silly to others, but I really do hope to finish them. Good luck on yours!

  2. So inspiring, thank you 🙂

  1. Pingback: into the bucket « whenpeopledontcare

  2. Pingback: What is on Your Bucket List? | Best Way to Promote Your Blog | BlogHyped

Leave a Reply

